In order to register a vehicle in Florida, you need a Florida driver's license and a Florida address.
Getting a Florida driver's license is not an easy process. We recommend starting your visit in another state, or using visitor.us' services to register a vehicle that you buy in Florida.
Florida vehicle registrations are handled by Florida Highway Safety and Motor Vehicles (FHSMV).
If you buy your vehicle from a dealer the dealer will issue you a 30-day temporary tag. If you plan to register your vehicle in Florida, the dealer will apply for your title and registration on your behalf.
If you buy your vehicle from a private party and plan to register it in Florida, bring the required items (below) to a FHSMV office to register your vehicle.
For vehicles being registered in Florida, Florida sales taxes are payable to the dealer upon sale, or FHSMV upon registration (if purchased from a private party).
Initial Florida Registration Fee: $225
Weight-Based Registration Fees: $28.10 - $46.10
The vehicle's title must be signed by the owner(s) printed on the title, its odometer reading recorded (if less than 10 years in age), and be free of all liens in order for the prior owner's interest to be released.
A Florida driver's license is required to register a vehicle in Florida.
A bill of sale is not required to register a vehicle in Florida, although signing one with the vehicle's seller is recommended.
Emissions inspections are not required in Florida.
Safety inspections are not required in Florida.
When registering a vehicle with a non-Florida title, a VIN verification and odometer reading must be performed by a law enforcement officer, a DMV employee, or a licensed Florida auto dealer.
Florida's minimum liability insurance limits are 10/20/10.
Florida does not require proof of residency to register a vehicle.
Vehicles registered in Florida must be registered to a Florida address.